For a wild Val Müstair

Jon Gross

Wildhüter Jon Gross.
As a gamekeeper, Jon Gross monitors, regulates and coordinates the populations of wild animals in the Biosfera Val Müstair. We accompany him for a day in his work.

Versatile on the road

As a gamekeeper in Val Müstair, Jon has the challenging task of balancing the needs of wildlife and the interests of humans. The job of a gamekeeper is a very versatile task that never ends. It is precisely this unpredictable component of his job that Jon finds exciting. You often have to react to unplanned incidents and be able to act flexibly. This makes the work varied and no two days are the same. "I don't mind getting up early in the morning or going out at night. You are partly rewarded with a unique atmosphere of the natural landscape," Jon explains with a laugh.

Wildhüter Jon Gross

Holiday Tip «Game Watching»

A wild animal needs much more energy to escape in winter, as progress in the snow is more strenuous and the low temperatures gnaw away at energy reserves. It is therefore important that wildlife rest zones are respected to avoid animals being unnecessarily startled by humans and driven into flight. «Many guests are not aware of this problem,» Jon explains, «so I would also like to sensitise guests to this issue during wildlife observations. I am particularly pleased that whole school classes book this offer again and again. Out in nature, the behaviour of wild animals and their challenges can be impressively demonstrated.»

Wildhüter Jon Gross

Protection of the wildlife

The number of fallen wild animals - animals that die without external influence, for example due to disease, hunger or cold - varies depending on the season. Harsh winters result in many animals falling victim to the harsh climatic conditions. If, on the other hand, the winters are mild, sick animals also survive, which can become a problem. Tracking down sick animals is an important part of his job. In this way, diseases can be contained and the population of wild animals can be protected. 

Wildhüter Jon Gross

In search of clues

Some diseases can be detected at a distance, but for others you have to look at the animals up close to see possible signs. For example, Jon explains that a circular trail indicates an animal that has been affected by chamois blindness. You have to react quickly to break the chain of infection and contain the disease. In this context, cooperation with the hunters is of immense importance, as they can provide clues about the whereabouts of the animals.

Wildhüter Jon Gross

Regulation of the wild population

Regulating the wild population is important, among other things, to protect the forests from excessive browsing by wild animals. In this way, the protective forest, which protects the population from natural hazards, can grow and become denser. During the respective hunting season in autumn, Jon is particularly often out in nature to be able to react in case of incidents with wild animals and to stand by the hunters if the situation demands it. Chamois and rock deer in particular often retreat into the high mountains - a challenging terrain to track animals. In nasty weather, this challenge should not be underestimated and teamwork is highly relevant.

Wildhüter Jon Gross

Hunting planning

When planning the hunt, it is a prerequisite that the population of the individual wild animals is recorded. In order to define this population, Jon organises wildlife counts in spring, in which hunters, foresters and farmers in the valley also participate. In coordination with the neighbouring Vinschgau Valley and the Office for Hunting and Fishing, the number of wild animals present is then estimated as best as possible and the shooting plan for the hunting season is determined.

Wildhüter Jon Gross

In keeping with the theme

Mehr anzeigen
Respektiere deine Grenzen
Respect your boundaries
Mehr anzeigen
Fettwiesen bei Fuldera
Biosfera Val Müstair
Mehr anzeigen
Wildhüter Jon Gross
Office for Hunting and Fishing

Für ein wildes Val Müstair

Jon Gross

Wildhüter Jon Gross.
Als Wildhüter überwacht, reguliert und koordiniert Jon Gross die Bestände der wild lebenden Tiere in der Biosfera Val Müstair. Wir begleiten ihn einen Tag lang bei seiner Arbeit.

Vielseitig unterwegs

Als Wildhüter vom Val Müstair hat Jon die herausfordernde Aufgabe die Bedürfnisse der Wildtiere und die Nutzungsinteressen des Menschen aufeinander abzustimmen. Der Beruf des Wildhüters ist eine sehr vielseitige Aufgabe, welche keinen Feierabend kennt. Genau diese unberechenbare Komponente seines Berufes findet Jon spannend. Oft muss man auf ungeplante Vorkommnisse reagieren und flexibel agieren können. Dies macht die Arbeit abwechslungsreich und kein Tag ist wie der andere. «Es macht mir nichts aus, in aller Frühe aufzustehen oder nachts noch auszurücken. Man wird zum Teil mit einer einzigartigen Stimmung der Naturlandschaft belohnt», erklärt Jon mit einem Lachen.

Wildhüter Jon Gross

Ferientipp «Wildbeobachtung»

Für eine Flucht benötigt ein Wildtier im Winter viel mehr Energie, da ein Vorankommen im Schnee anstrengender ist und die tiefen Temperaturen an den Energiereserven nagen. Daher ist es wichtig, dass Wildruhezonen eingehalten werden, um zu vermeiden, dass die Tiere unnötig vom Menschen aufgescheucht und in die Flucht getrieben werden. «Viele Gäste sind sich dieser Problematik nicht bewusst», erklärt Jon. «Daher möchte ich die Gäste auf Wildtierbeobachtungen auch für dieses Thema sensibilisieren. Mich freut es besonders, dass immer wieder ganze Schulklassen dieses Angebot buchen. Draussen in der Natur lässt sich das Verhalten der Wildtiere und deren Herausforderungen eindrücklich aufzeigen.»

Wildhüter Jon Gross

Schutz des Wildbestandes

Die Anzahl von Fallwild – Tiere, die ohne Fremdeinwirkung zu Tode kommen, zum Beispiel durch Krankheit, Hunger oder Kälte – ist je nach Saison verschieden. Harte Winter haben zur Folge, dass viele Tiere den harschen Klimabedingungen zum Opfer fallen. Sind die Winter hingegen mild, überleben auch kranke Tiere, was zum Problem werden kann. Das Aufspüren von kranken Tieren ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil seines Jobs. So können Krankheiten eingedämmt und der Bestand der Wildtiere geschützt werden. 

Wildhüter Jon Gross

Auf Spurensuche

Gewisse Krankheiten sind dabei auf Distanz zu erkennen, für andere wiederum muss man die Tiere von Nahem betrachten, um mögliche Anzeichen zu erkennen. So erklärt Jon, dass ein kreisförmiger Spurenverlauf auf ein Tier hindeutet, das von der Gamsblindheit befallen wurde. Man muss schnell reagieren, um die Ansteckungskette zu unterbrechen und die Krankheit einzudämmen. Dabei ist die Zusammenarbeit mit den Jägern von immenser Bedeutung, da diese Hinweise über den Verbleib der Tiere geben können.

Wildhüter Jon Gross

Regulierung des Wildbestandes

Den Wildbestand zu regulieren ist unter anderem wichtig, um die Wälder vor übermässigem Wildverbiss zu schützen. Auf diese Weise kann der Schutzwald, welcher die Bevölkerung vor Naturgefahren schützt, wachsen und sich verdichten. Während der jeweiligen Jagdsaison im Herbst ist Jon besonders oft in der Natur unterwegs, um bei Zwischenfällen mit Wildtieren reagieren zu können und den Jägern zur Seite zu stehen, falls die Situation dies verlangt. Insbesondere das Gams- und Steinwild zieht sich oft ins Hochgebirge zurück – ein anspruchsvolles Terrain um Tiere aufzuspüren. Bei garstigem Wetter ist diese Herausforderung nicht zu unterschätzen und Teamwork von hoher Relevanz.

Wildhüter Jon Gross

Planung der Jagd

Bei der Planung der Jagd ist es eine Voraussetzung, dass der Bestand der einzelnen Wildtiere erfasst wird. Damit dieser Bestand definiert werden kann, organisiert Jon im Frühjahr Wildtierzählungen, an welchen auch Jäger, Förster und Bauern im Tal teilnehmen. In Koordination mit dem benachbarten Vinschgau sowie dem Amt für Jagd und Fischerei wird anschliessend die Anzahl der vorhandenen Wildtiere bestmöglich abgeschätzt und der Abschussplan für die Jagdsaison bestimmt.

Wildhüter Jon Gross

Zum Thema passend

Mehr anzeigen
Respektiere deine Grenzen
Respektiere deine Grenzen
Mehr anzeigen
Fettwiesen bei Fuldera
Biosfera Val Müstair
Mehr anzeigen
Wildhüter Jon Gross
Amt für Jagd und Fischerei