The eponym

UNESCO World Heritage Monastery St. Johann

Karl der Grosse in der Kirche und Heiligkreuzkapelle.
It is the undisputed flagship of Val Müstair - the UNESCO World Heritage monastery of St. Johann attracts guests from near and far to the valley. Here Benedictine everyday life, cultural cultivation, art and research meet. The church houses the largest and best-preserved fresco cycle from the early Middle Ages, and the monastery museum brings the over 1200-year history of the monastery to life.
The monastery of St. Johann is also the eponym of the entire Val Müstair, because the establishment of the monastery was followed by the gradual settlement of the valley. This is how the valley came to be known as Münstertal or Val Müstair, because the Latin word for monastery is «monasterium».

The founding myth

Legend has it that none other than Charlemagne laid the foundation stone for the monastery. Having just been crowned king of the Lombards, he got caught in a snowstorm on the Umbrail Pass. Out of gratitude for having survived the storm, he founded the monastery in Müstair in 775. Or so the legend has it. The monastery church shows that this is true: the wood in the beams was felled in the year the monastery was founded, the frescoes date from the founding period and the stucco statue in the church bears witness to Charlemagne. The frescoes from the Carolingian period then earned the monastery the UNESCO label.

Kloster St. Johann

The monastery ensemble

The monastery complex combines 1200 years of history. The church and the Plantaturm with its dovetail battlements form the most characteristic landmark of Müstair. The Plantaturm — probably the oldest residential tower in the Alpine region — now houses the monastery museum. It offers a view of the monastery rooms, from the cloister to the Gothic refectory and Baroque cells. The complex is completed by the Holy Cross Chapel and the bishop's residence. This ensemble still characterises the appearance of the monastery today. Originally founded as a monastery, it has been an all-women's convent since the 12th century. Today, ten Benedictine nuns live here.

Fresken
Klostermuseum
Heiligkreuz Kapelle
Mehr anzeigen

St. Johann Monastery

Medieval frescoes

The church is the heart of the monastery. The world's best-preserved fresco cycle from the early Middle Ages attracts all eyes during a visit.

Mehr anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen

St. Johann Monastery

Klostermuseum

Twelve centuries of monastery, building and art history come to life in the monastery museum, which is open all year round.

Mehr anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen

St. Johann Monastery

Heiligkreuzkapelle

The Holy Cross Chapel is a jewel from the Carolingian period which can be visited on a guided tour.

Mehr anzeigen

Gülsha's little wonder of the world

In November 2019, the monastic community welcomed a woman into its ranks who, at first glance, does not fit into monastic life at all. Gülsha Adilji, who became known as the presenter of the social media TV show «Joiz», withdrew for three days and nights into the seclusion of monastic life. The quick-witted presenter - herself born a Muslim - had repeatedly made critical comments about religions in the media. In principle. And without taking sides for one religion or another. Nevertheless, Gülsha did not have to think twice when she was personally invited to the St. Johann convent by Sister Domenica Dethomas, the long-time prioress.

Gülsha Adilji im Kloster St. Johann

Contact

UNESCO World Heritage Monastery St. Johann
Museum and monastery shop
7537 Müstair
Tel. +41 81 858 61 89
visit-museum@muestair.ch
muestair.ch

Der Namensgeber

UNESCO Welterbe Kloster St. Johann

Karl der Grosse in der Kirche und Heiligkreuzkapelle.
Es ist das unbestrittene Aushängeschild des Val Müstair – das UNESCO Welterbe Kloster St. Johann lockt Gäste aus nah und fern ins Tal. Hier begegnen sich benediktinischer Alltag, Kulturpflege, Kunst und Forschung. Die Kirche beherbergt den grössten und besterhaltenen Freskenzyklus aus dem Frühmittelalter und im Klostermuseum wird die über 1200-jährige Geschichte des Klosters lebendig.
Das Kloster St. Johann ist zugleich der Namensgeber des gesamten Val Müstair, denn auf die Errichtung des Klosters folgte die allmähliche Besiedlung des Tals. So kam es, dass das Tal fortan als Münstertal oder Val Müstair bekannt war, denn das lateinische Wort für Kloster lautet «monasterium».

Der Gründungsmythos

Die Legende erzählt, dass kein Geringerer als Karl der Grosse den Grundstein für das Kloster legte. Gerade erst zum König der Langobarden gekrönt, geriet er am Umbrailpass in einen Schneesturm. Aus Dankbarkeit diesen überlebt zu haben, stiftete er im Jahr 775 das Kloster in Müstair. So will es die Legende. Dass daran Wahres ist, zeigt sich in der Klosterkirche: Die Hölzer im Gebälk wurden im Jahr der Klostergründung gefällt, die Fresken datieren aus der Gründerzeit und die Stuckstatue in der Kirche legt Zeugnis über Karl den Grossen ab. Die Fresken aus karolingischer Zeit haben dem Kloster sodann das UNESCO-Label eingetragen.

Kloster St. Johann

Das Klosterensemble

Die Klosteranlage vereint 1200 Jahre Geschichte. Die Kirche und der Plantaturm mit seinen Schwalbenschwanzzinnen bilden das charakteristischste Wahrzeichen von Müstair. Der Plantaturm – der vermutlich älteste Wohnturm im Alpenraum – beherbergt heute das Klostermuseum. Es erlaubt einen Blick in die Klosterräume, vom Kreuzgang über das gotische Refektorium bis hin zu barocken Zellen. Komplettiert wird die Anlage von der Heiligkreuzkapelle und der Bischofsresidenz. Dieses Ensemble prägt bis heute das Erscheinungsbild des Klosters. Ursprünglich als Mönchskloster gegründet, ist es seit dem 12. Jahrhundert ein reiner Frauenkonvent. Heute leben hier zehn Benediktinerinnen.

Fresken
Klostermuseum
Heiligkreuz Kapelle
Mehr anzeigen

Kloster St. Johann

Mittelalterliche Fresken

Die Kirche ist das Herzstück des Klosters. Der weltweit besterhaltene Freskenzyklus aus dem Frühmittelalter zieht bei einem Besuch sämtliche Blicke auf sich.

Mehr anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen

Kloster St. Johann

Klostermuseum

Im ganzjährig geöffneten Klostermuseum werden zwölf Jahrhunderte Kloster-, Bau- und Kunstgeschichte lebendig.

Mehr anzeigen
Mehr anzeigen

Kloster St. Johann

Heiligkreuzkapelle

Die Heiligkreuzkapelle ist ein Juwel aus karolingischer Zeit, welches auf einer Führung besichtigt werden kann.

Mehr anzeigen

Gülsha's kleines Weltwunder

Im November 2019 empfing die Klostergemeinschaft eine Frau in ihren Reihen, die auf den ersten Blick so gar nicht ins klösterliche Leben passt. Gülsha Adilji, bekannt geworden als Moderatorin des Social-Media-TVs «Joiz», zog sich drei Tage und Nächte in die Abgeschiedenheit des Klosterlebens zurück. Die schlagfertige Moderatorin – selber als Muslima geboren – hatte sich in den Medien wiederholt kritisch über Religionen geäussert. Prinzipiell. Und ohne für die eine oder andere Religion Partei zu ergreifen. Dennoch musste Gülsha nicht zweimal überlegen, als sie persönlich von Schwester Domenica Dethomas, der langjährigen Priorin, ins Kloster St. Johann eingeladen wurde.

Gülsha Adilji im Kloster St. Johann

Kontakt

UNESCO Welterbe Kloster St. Johann
Museum und Klosterladen
7537 Müstair
Tel. +41 81 858 61 89
visit-museum@muestair.ch
muestair.ch