Best mountain cereals

Graun Val Müstair

Graun Val Müstair
Mountain cereal cultivation has a long tradition in Val Müstair. To safeguard this branch of production and to preserve the cultural landscape, a new grain collection point will be built in 2022. This will ensure the cultivation, processing and refinement of local grain.
The cultural landscape of the Val Müstair is known for its arable terraces and the grain fields blowing in the wind, which alternate with grassland in a mosaic-like manner. Cereal cultivation is thus not only important for agriculture, but also for intact biodiversity.

The future of cereal cultivation

The suppliers of the new grain collection point are all members of Agricultura Val Müstair. Some of the grain is milled on site and sold as high-quality flour or processed in the bakery. The flours are also labelled with the nature park's product label. The current direct sales of eight tonnes of grain are to be increased to 14 tonnes in the next few years. The organic cereal flour and the specialities from the Meier-beck bakery (Schaibiettas, rye bread, etc.) are sold through Granalpin, the local sales point in the bakery and in the monastery. The carrier of the cereal processing is the Società Graun Jauer.

Bestes Berggetreide

Graun Val Müstair

Graun Val Müstair
Der Berggetreideanbau hat eine lange Tradition im Val Müstair. Zur Sicherung dieses Produktionszweiges und zum Erhalt der Kulturlandschaft, wurde 2022 eine neue Getreidesammelstelle errichtet. Damit sind Anbau, Verarbeitung und Veredelung des Getreides vor Ort sichergestellt.
Die Kulturlandschaft des Val Müstair ist bekannt für ihre Ackerterrassen und die im Wind wehenden Getreidefelder, die sich mosaikartig mit dem Grünland abwechseln. Der Getreideanbau ist somit nicht nur für die Landwirtschaft wichtig, sondern auch für eine intakte Biodiversität.

Die Zukunft des Getreideanbaus

Die Lieferanten der neuen Getreidesammelstelle sind allesamt Mitglieder der Agricultura Val Müstair. Ein Teil des Getreides wird vor Ort gemahlen und als hochwertiges Mehl verkauft oder in der Bäckerei weiterverarbeitet. Die Mehle sind zudem mit dem Produktelabel des Naturparks ausgezeichnet. Der heutige Direktverkauf von acht Tonnen Getreide soll in den nächsten Jahren auf 14 Tonnen gesteigert werden. Das biologische Getreidemehl und die Spezialitäten aus der Bäckerei Meier-beck (Schaibiettas, Roggenbrot etc.) werden über Granalpin, die lokale Verkaufsstelle in der Bäckerei und im Kloster abgesetzt. Trägerin der Getreideverarbeitung ist die Società Graun Jauer.