The old mill grinds again
The history of the mill
In the village alley Paclera, along the mountain stream Muranzina, there used to be various handicraft businesses, all of which depended on the use of water power: the mills, stamp mills, saws and forges. In 1676, the municipality of Sta. Maria granted the miller Jakob Cott the water right for the first time. The mill wheel turned until a few decades ago, then the wheels were removed and the water channels filled in. The mill was left to its own devices. Thanks to many donations and volunteers, the mill has been faithfully restored.
The mill turns
The mill wheels have been turning again since 2004. When the water valves in the stream are opened, the wheels start moving with a loud clatter and the floor in the miller's room shakes. Then the grain from the region is processed into flour in Switzerland's oldest functioning mill. During the summer months, the mill can be visited and guests can immerse themselves in the centuries-old craft on a guided tour and follow the path from grain to flour.